1993 Semifinal(Kvalifikacija za Millstreet)

Kvalifikacija za Millstreet (English: Qualification for Millstreet; French: Qualification pourVlcsnap-2016-04-24-16h59m02s989 Millstreet) was the preselection for the Eurovision Song Contest 1993. Seven countries took part, none of which had participated in the Eurovision Song Contest before, although songs from Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia and Slovenia had represented Yugoslavia in past contests. Three qualified for the annual Eurovision in Millstreet, Ireland. It was held on 3 April 1993 at the RTV SLO Broadcasting Centre in Ljubljana, Slovenia.

After the seven competing songs were presented and the juries made their final results, the seven competing artists performed once again on stage, performing songs from their existing repertoire: Bosnia and Herzegovina’s Fazla performed “Kiša ruši grad”; Put, who represented Croatia, performed “Mom zavičaju”; Estonia’s Janika Sillamaa performed “I Live For Your Love”; Hungary’s Andrea Szulák performed “Don’t Wanna Stop My Clock”; Dida Drăgan for Romania sang “Blestem (The Curse)”; Slovenia’s 1X Band performed “Novo jutro”; and Slovakia’s Elán performed “Od Tatier k Dunaju”.

From the seven competing countries, the former Yugoslav nations of Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia and Slovenia qualified for Eurovision 1993, which was held on 15 May 1993 in Millstreet, Ireland. Because of the new relegation system that had been introduced to Eurovision, all seven countries would be eligible to take part in the 1994 contest.


Each country chooses its entry for the contest through its own selection process. Some countries select their entry through an internal selection, where the network chooses both the song and artist, while others hold national finals where the public can choose the song, the artist, or both. The following articles detail the process through which the entries for each country were chosen:

 Draw  Country Language Artist Song English Place Points
 1 Bosnia Herzegovina  Bosnian Fazla   Sva bol svijeta  All the pain in the world  2  52
 2  Croatia  Croatian,English   Put  Don’t Ever Cry    3 47 
 3 Estonia  Estonian  Janika Sillamaa  Muretut meelt ja südamet uld Sorrowless mind and flames of heart  5 47
 4 Hungary  Hungarian Andrea Szulák  Árva reggel Loneso-me morning 6 44
 5 Romania Romanian  Dida Drăgan Nu pleca Don’t go away  7  38
 6  Slovenia Slovene  1X Band    Tih deževen dan A quiet rainy day   1  54
 7 Slovakia Slovak  Elán  Amnestia na neveru Amnesty to infidelity 4  50


Voting and jury members

Each country sent a single juror, who was actually present at the contest venue. They announced their votes as the camera was trained on them.

Bosnia and Herzegovina – Ismeta Dervoz-Krvavac
(Yugoslav representative in the 1976 Contest)
Croatia – Ksenija Urličić
Estonia – Yuri Makarov
Hungary – Péter Wolf
Romania – Aurora Andronache
Slovenia – Mojmir Sepe
Slovakia – Stanislav Bartovič


Bosnia and Herzegovina – TBC (TVBiH)
Croatia – Aleksandar “Aco” Kostadinov (HRT 2)
Cyprus (non-participating country) – TBC (RIK 1)
Denmark (non-participating country) – TBC (DR TV)
Estonia – Olavi Pihlamägi (Eesti Televisioon)
Hungary – István Vágó (MTV2)
Portugal (non-participating country) – TBC (Canal 1)
Romania – TBC (TVR1)
Slovakia – TBC (STV1)
Slovenia – Gregor Krajc (SLO1)